Occupational Hazard

For those of you who are not familiar with this term, it is explained as the collateral damage or the risk you have in your line of work. Since I am still a college student, my occupational hazards are…

1. Procrastinating
It’s not that I don’t want to do it (excuses, we’ll get to this one in a jiffy), but I haven’t found the right time to make it perfect. I’ve heard it somewhere that procrastinators are actually perfectionists, I guess that personality fits me. But beware, being a procrastinator does not mean being lazy. Lazy means you’d rather put your needs first before your responsibilities, or you have no desire in doing that assignment in the first place, in my opinion. Procrastinators are normal people, it’s in human nature to feel like not doing anything at a particular time, but don’t get carried away. “I can always do it later” is different with “I want to do it, but  I don’t know if it’ll be good enough.”

2. Excuses
Where to begin with this one… It is unfortunate for a few people to encounter this occupational hazard, because sometimes there are a lot of things on your plate and you can’t handle it. But, you are bound to responsibilities and obligations and your superior (or those who give you these tasks) have appointed you to finish it, due to the fact that you’re the one who qualifies to do it properly. Excuses exist when you cannot deliver because you are cramped by other responsibilities. The idea of reducing it is to do time management, which is something I’m still trying to master.

3. “More hours please.”

The one thing we need is more time, because sometimes 24 hours isn’t enough. But, the thing with time is that it is only a measurement of life made by humans in order for us to gain control of self-management and other things. The way we perceives it depends on what we are doing at certain times. I’ve heard it somewhere that you tend to lost your track of time whenever you’ve had a good time, or really busy until you can’t see your watch, or you’re on your way home from some place. We determined it ourselves, measured it, take opinions on whether we are late or not. There are no exact measurement for time because it is a independent life-factor, in my opinion.

4. The Power of “Kepepet”

Kepepet is an Indonesian slang word which means “at deadline; doing things at the last minute”. Oh boy how are we very familiar with this occupational hazard. This hazardous trait goes along with the first three and only appears whenever: (1) You’re over procrastinating until the deadline of your task; (2) Your laziness is overpowering you; (3) You do have a lot to handle. As long as we can manage our time well, this trait won’t appear. Either that, or you multitask. Whatever floats your boat. My boat is still trying to float on the idea of multitasking.

5. The Number of Assignments is Inversely Proportional to The Amount of Time

Actually, the term above only exists in your head. Logically (or delusional), there are no impossible things that you cannot achieve. I don’t know where I got it from, but I guess it fits the situation. I guess I got it from some motivational posters on Pinterest.

There are infinite ways to find your own occupational hazard. Being a college student, there are more than five of it, but somehow we managed to make the most of it because truth be told, it is the most fun phase a human has encounter (in my opinion). But really, these occupational hazards are just the tip of the iceberg.

Leave a Reply

