(She) Would Soar, Sky High

I mean seriously, would I left the comfort zone I’m in right now? Left the whole thing behind me, and explore the world like how Samantha Brown usually is? I would, but I wanna break the whole thing down before jumping into the ride.

You can spot me as one of those who would gripped tightly to the itinerary, look at every map for routes and rest areas, and checking the hotels on our way to wherever that would be. I don’t know why, I just can’t help but to secure the whole thing down before I go in. To know that everything is ready to go without any loose ends whatsoever.

This is adapted from my mother’s habit of preparing everything in advance before the actual trip even begin. But, if my mother were to see me preparing for a trip, she would say that everything I do is wrong. Pretty much, yea.

I have never actually plan a trip spontaneously simply because: (1) My family don’t have time for unplanned trips; (2) My friends are too preoccupied with their own affairs to have a spontaneous trip; (3) My close friends and I are not adventurous people; (4) I’m too comfortable in my own comfort zone. And I’m slightly guilty in that last bit.

Truth be told, I’d love unplanned trips if everything is already planned. Get the picture? The idea of trips with other people, spontaneous ones are usually done by those who are already close with each other. I don’t know, that’s how I see it. Because it is better to unwind, forget the world with the people who matters to you. Also, I believe in the idea of not making promises you can’t keep, because once you plan to do something with your friends, it will not work out quick. Unless it is spontaneous.

To be honest, the idea of traveling is best grasp with a sense of stability. You know where you’re going, who you’re going with, where are you gonna to stay, how long you’re going to stay. But the “what are you going to do in there” part doesn’t need itinerary, in my opinion. The outcome of one’s travel activity depends on how one’s spending it.

You want to expand your cultural knowledge? Then visit the historical spots, or spend time with the locals there. You want to taste new sort of food? Then go on a culinary type of travel. You want to learn the language? Talk to their natives, then immersion will happen. You need a new set of glasses on how you see the world? Visit multiple worlds. You want cherish the moment? Simply look up and realize that you are in it. Trips, spontaneous or not, will be worth your while when you know you have gained something from it.

As long as you know how to survive, it’ll be fine. I hope.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Happy Wanderer.”

Leave a Reply

