Lucid Nightmares

See, it is not always about how you pray before you sleep. But you cannot help to think, “Have I prayed long enough for the nightmares to go away?”

It was a few weeks ago, I was at my parents’ room with my phone, before dinner. It is becoming a habit of me to sleep whenever I lay on beds, and in this case it’s my parents’ bed. I always remind myself not to sleep recklessly but I can’t help it, I love sleeping. So, there I was, napping before dinner is on.

I knew I would immediately regret my decision when I experience lucid dreaming. You know, when you feel like your soul is awake but you can’t even move any part of your body, that’s exactly how I feel. If you Google stuff about lucid dream, I can tell you that most of them are true.

Once I can’t move a muscle but I know I’m awake, in a split second I saw that thing coming my way. Yes, the thing. I don’t even want to mention how it looks like but it did approach me, slowly. I tried to force myself awake but I can’t move at all. Then I remember what I always do since elementary, is that whenever the monster is about to appear, I would use every power I have to move myself, even if it is just the motion of prying my eyelids really hard to get my eyes open.

So I do everything and fortunately I’m able to wake myself up. I can’t express how relieved I was when I open my eyes for real, because the dream itself feels everlasting. I can’t count how many times have I cried in those sorts of dream. Though I don’t see tears streaming down my face when I wake up.

This is the sign that I can’t take naps in inconvenient places, which is cool and uncool. Cool because this means I have to control in order not to embarrass myself, uncool because I can’t do my most favorite thing.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Nightmares.”

Leave a Reply

