to Sleep or Not to Sleep, That is the Question

When it comes to sleep, one does not simply take a good eight hours. Sometimes what you need is one full day to sleep away your problems and responsibilities. That is the dream.

Sleeping is when I can be nothing, you know. I can snuggle myself under the blanket and fell into a deep slumber without thinking about anything else. This is because when I am awake, I am perfectly aware of every single detail I take in my life, and that is exhausting. To be awake is to deal with the world, and people inside it. It is too much for a person to handle.

I could sleep really early and wake up in time for a morning run, or sleep around late midnight and wake up around lunch. To be in my room alone, laying on my bed is something I always waiting for everyday because it is the only time I get to be myself. Probably sounded incredibly cliche but I do feel free when I am about to sleep, the ritual is quite long, you know.

The one thing I always do before I sleep is to write. Anything that pops into my head, I write it down because have it all explained orally would make me look weird (talking to myself is not okay). Then I would read a page or two, and end it with sleep. This writing habit is also filled with loads of vivid dreams that I would immediately record in any paper as soon as I wake up in fear that I will forget about it.

In any given circumstances, however, I am trying not to be sleepy at all times. Sleeping means that I charge myself, and by charging myself I also take part of soaking in complete solitude which I dearly love. To have that much time to myself at night, I have to be balanced and concentrate on daily duties because one does not simply take two naps a day.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream.”

Leave a Reply

