“It is a truth universally acknowledged…”

…that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in a want of a wife.

It’s funny, I’m just done reading Pride and Prejudice for the nth time and this question popped.

You know when you watch or read something, repeatedly, you started to notice things other than the big picture. Little details of scenery, glimpses of the character’s feeling reflected onto their expression, all that. The more you read the book, the more things unveiled in between the lines. You picked up new perspectives on how Jane Bennet sees her relationship with Bingley, and even understand a little bit about Mrs. Bennet’s detest for Mr Darcy.

The plot thickens, and the book itself develops better understanding of the progress Elizabeth gone through, from looking at Darcy archly until she loves him at the end. It was a beautiful transformation.

The first time I ever familiarized myself around the works of Jane Austen was through the 2009 rendition of Pride and Prejudice. I thought of Elizabeth saying she love Darcy to her father, was rather hypocritical. It was nothing more than returning favors of his hand in marriage since Darcy go above and beyond to make Elizabeth grew fond of him.

But then again, I haven’t read the book at the time.

I love the book even more, especially when Darcy had this conversation with Caroline during the party at the assembly. She thought Darcy was thinking about how insupportable it would be to pass many evenings in such society, by which he replies with:

“Your conjecture is totally wrong, I assure you. My mind was more agreeably engaged. I have been meditating on the very great pleasure which a pair fine eyes in the face of a pretty woman can bestow.”

Miss Bingley immediately fixed her eyes on his face, and desired he would tell her what lady had the credit of inspiring such reflections. Mr Darcy replied with great intrepidity,

“Miss Elizabeth Bennet.”

“Miss Elizabeth Bennet!” repeated Miss Bingley. “I am all astonishment. How long has she been such a favourite? – and pray when am I to wish you joy?”

That’s just it for me. The idea of having a man loves someone so ardently makes me feel oddly romanticized by Darcy himself. Also, it makes me want to speak in a British accent. The book is the only thing that makes me want to have my own Darcy, and relate to Elizabeth in some point of the story. Just the right book that could make you feel right again.

In response to the Daily Post Prompt: Second Time Around

